Iron Miners
It is currently Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:28 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 77 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 2:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:51 pm
Posts: 1423
Location: SW Indiana
That all makes sense. The video looked like the blowout was more explosive than I would have expected.

More like a pressure seal broke or a small amount of dust lit-off. And the rock shoud not be explosive, Of course they could have drilled through a small rider.

_________________
I don't have all the answers.
I don't even know all the questions!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 8:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:05 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Winter Springs Florida
So I thought most ripper miners now had roof drills mounted on the miner. If so, the miner must be some old hand me down from another mine. Also, while I worked in the Pittsburgh Seam of coal which was considered high coal, I was always told low coal mines had much better roof conditions. It sure seems the roof conditions for this mine is pretty unstable. And where are the roof support jacks when the roof bolters are bolting the cut? Yea, the drama is kicked up for tv, but the show is still great in that it allows people to see what it's really like inside a coal mine.

Randy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 8:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 5:15 pm
Posts: 381
Location: State College, PA
Im certainly not very knowledgable on the topic, but a mine I got a tur of with the same height of coal had CM's with no roof bolter attached, roof bolters were seperate


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 9:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:51 pm
Posts: 1423
Location: SW Indiana
Don't recall seeing any pictures of Miner/Bolter Combinations. Now of course Pete or Coalfire will prove me wrong.

_________________
I don't have all the answers.
I don't even know all the questions!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 12:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 3:39 pm
Posts: 170
Location: West Virginia
Doug some places call those miner/boltler a sattelite miners. Consol likes using them. Some places use them in real bad top so, they can stick a bolt up before it falls. I think it is one more link in the chain to fail and screw up the whole deal.

_________________
_______________________________________ www.pickandshovel.org "For Miners By Miners"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 1:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:51 pm
Posts: 1423
Location: SW Indiana
Cobalt has not confirmed on their website or FB. But one source is reporting their miner broke down. (I wouldn't bet on Season 2. Their stock has taken two major hits in the past couple of weeks. Now production could be down of an extended period.


5/18/2011 12:04:15 PM CALGARY, ALBERTA, May 18, 2011 (Marketwire via COMTEX News Network) --
Cobalt Coal Corp. ("Cobalt" or the "Company") (TSX VENTURE:CBT), announces a significant machine malfunction at its Westchester Mine. During the evening of May 17th, the main shaft of the continuous miner severed causing the separation of the cutter heads from the machine.

While management is investigating alternatives, difficulty in sourcing replacement parts may necessitate a re-build of the continuous miner which could take 1-2 weeks during which time operations at the mine will be shutdown. Management will provide further updates as information becomes available.

_________________
I don't have all the answers.
I don't even know all the questions!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 1:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:51 pm
Posts: 1423
Location: SW Indiana
Coalfire wrote:
Doug some places call those miner/boltler a sattelite miners. Consol likes using them. Some places use them in real bad top so, they can stick a bolt up before it falls. I think it is one more link in the chain to fail and screw up the whole deal.



Once again I humbly sit corrected. :cry:

http://www.joy.com/en/Joy/Products/Entr ... Bolter.htm

_________________
I don't have all the answers.
I don't even know all the questions!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 1:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 3:39 pm
Posts: 170
Location: West Virginia
OK I thought these ppl were just dumb for TV. Now with statements like this it is confirmed. I'm sure UG mech will back me up with this(I know he has worked on a 1410) CHANGING A HEAD OUT DOES NOT TAKE 1-2 WEEKS. I have done a complete change in little over 2 shifts. This is insane. I bought some of their stock(MISTAKE). If you can't make money in this coal market especially when you are 700 feet underground then you will never make money. No wonder Tom has been broke twice before.

_________________
_______________________________________ www.pickandshovel.org "For Miners By Miners"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 2:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:51 pm
Posts: 1423
Location: SW Indiana
I wondered about the line: "difficulty in sourcing replacement parts".

Really? !! How many Joy Miners are in Southern WVa? A few dozen I would think. Unless this is some old, oddball model. And Joy isn't that far away, I can't remember, but they have a region office close and there is at least one independant Company in Beckley that rebuilds miners.

_________________
I don't have all the answers.
I don't even know all the questions!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 7:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 2:16 pm
Posts: 1501
Location: Central Ohio
The Joy CM combos with the bolters are very cool but it is like Lannie said if it breaks the entire thing goes down. Maybe on the PLC computer it will allow you to mine seperatelty without using the bolter in a pinch and use a seperate bolting machine though....Not sure.....I still have not seen single episode of Coal yet.

_________________
Pioneering the next INDUSTRIAL REVOLUTION (Preservation ! ). . . Saving equipment (1) mine site at a time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 9:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 4:49 pm
Posts: 87
Location: tennessee
Coalfire wrote:
OK I thought these ppl were just dumb for TV. Now with statements like this it is confirmed. I'm sure UG mech will back me up with this(I know he has worked on a 1410) CHANGING A HEAD OUT DOES NOT TAKE 1-2 WEEKS. I have done a complete change in little over 2 shifts. This is insane. I bought some of their stock(MISTAKE). If you can't make money in this coal market especially when you are 700 feet underground then you will never make money. No wonder Tom has been broke twice before.


:lol: weve changed complete cutter head packages in 4 hrs, and that was taking our time! i just about fell out of my chair (laughing) when i heared they were getting a whole new miner due to a head issue! after all that crying about money, they buy a NEW (not rebuilt) miner from Joy!? ive never been that upscale... every new miner weve gotten has been a rebuild from phillips machine in beckley... maybe Joy was the only place that would finance them.

_________________
"cornbread and iced tea have took the place of pills and 90 proof."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2011 9:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 3:39 pm
Posts: 170
Location: West Virginia
That was not a new miner. A 1410AA will set you back more than 600k. That miner was bought from Rockhouse Creek Developement and rebuilt by Joy. That was all pre-arranged. I used to work for Rockhouse and my best Friends brother is the head of Maintanance for them and he sold them the miner.

_________________
_______________________________________ www.pickandshovel.org "For Miners By Miners"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 9:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:51 pm
Posts: 1423
Location: SW Indiana
My limited experience is deep mines run around 52 degrees. Warm enough to be comfortable in a shirt, etc.

Why are the guys on the show dress like this mine is much colder. I assume it is because this mine is less than 1000 feet from portal to face.

_________________
I don't have all the answers.
I don't even know all the questions!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 9:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 2:34 pm
Posts: 6906
Location: Within 60 Miles of the Northern Anthracite Field
doug, i remember drilling the first few rock holes off the skidmore at brownies up to the mammoth. 300 feet down the slope, 100 feet on the gangway. directly on the intake air, in winter time....... was fn cold!!! never you mind the water pissing jackleg!

_________________
Come over to the Dark Side....... We have Cookies!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 9:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:51 pm
Posts: 1423
Location: SW Indiana
If the intake air has not been exposed to a long run in the mine it should track the outside temp. Just has never given it much thought.

_________________
I don't have all the answers.
I don't even know all the questions!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 77 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group