Iron Miners
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:37 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Professional abandoned mine photos
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 8:36 pm 

Hi, I am new to iron miners.com and reside in Utah. I am a professional photographer who has been publish in numerous magazines. I love to explore and shoot abandon mines and buildings. I shoot mostly out west but have shot in the Adirondack iron mine region. i know I'm spamming but check out my site and let me know what you think.
www.brentbensonphotography.com

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 8:43 pm 
Site Admin

Hello,

Welcome to the site. I was looking at your site after validating your account, you have some pretty good shots on your site. Very nice work! Where in the Adirondack region did you visit?

Miner Greg

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 9:00 pm 

Greg, I have explored Lyon Mt, some great old mills. Mineville has one of the biggest mills I have ever seen, but it's suppose to be getting demo anytime now :( I had the caretaker show me around. There is also a great little museum in Port Henry, NY. It has lots of equipment and photo's and if you go on Friday one of the Volunteers used to work the mines. The iron center doesn't have a web site, but don't let that discourage you. You could easily spend afternoon there. It does have a FB page http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id= ... 359&ref=ts
I will post some photos of the old # 7 mill for you soon on the photo page.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 9:14 am 
Site Admin

Sounds good. I've always wanted to check out the remains of Lyon Mountain. I have read lots of interesting stuff about it, but never made it up there. I did not know that it was in danger of being torn down. I had thought the town had a lot of pride in their iron heritage, and thus that something like this wouldn't even be a possibility.