Iron Miners
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:54 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: New guy, historical questions.
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2015 12:58 pm 

Hi. I'm Adam. I'm a historical researcher, amateur archaeologist, and am one of those "metal detector guys" and live in northern Alabama.

I've been working on a local history project and would like to know if anyone on this forum could help me with research links.

I'm looking to find info specifically related to iron and coal mining in Etowah county near the towns of Attalla, Gadsden, Gallant, Altoona and surrounding areas. Basically it's like this, there are old mines in the area, there are tales of old mines in the area, there are articles and stories and books with anecdotes about the local mines.

But getting anything substantial is like catching jello cubes with a tennis racket.

There is a ton of info on the Birmingham area coal and iron mines and the industry. But anything about mining out here has largely been forgotten. That's where my friends and I are trying to tell the story about the mining history of this area. I'm working with the local historical society and am working on putting together an exhibit when I'm done.

Post subject: Re: New guy, historical questions.
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2015 1:40 pm 

viewtopic.php?f=20&t=22552

This was a thread i started awhile back. I know a lot about the area. I am in northwest Georgia at the foot of Lookout Mountain. What do you want to know?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2015 10:37 pm 

Welcome to the forums. I shall follow this thread with interest, as I plan to model an iron mine owned by a steel mill. (Pit on one section, mill on the other kind of thing)

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 3:33 am 

ngunderground...That actually looks like a small mine I've been in. Hinds Rd?

We were discussing the Hammond mine explosion the other day. http://www3.gendisasters.com/alabama/8258/gadsden-al-hammond-mining-co-explosion-oct-1908