Iron Miners
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 1:42 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Rail wanted
PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2015 1:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 1:17 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Central Wisconsin
you've got a nice spread there. where is the incline?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rail wanted
PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2015 4:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 6:13 am
Posts: 233
Location: New Zealand
Dave,
the incline is on the straight section, lower right corner, short spur on the level at the base of the bank. There is more formation to lay a longer siding but I don't need it, I also don't have rail to waste down there either, was forced to use up the old portable track which was only 1"sq box and some old 20lb shorts.
I use a light skyline that takes the load right to the timbercar anyway, and that is way more versatile, it can be strung in different directions. Gravity does the rest. There are only two more trees left to log down there at this time, the rest can stay for a few more years.


Attachments:
ReadyHoistAway.jpg
ReadyHoistAway.jpg [ 142.04 KiB | Viewed 1414 times ]
Hoist.jpg
Hoist.jpg [ 150.99 KiB | Viewed 1414 times ]

_________________
Alive and Well....for now
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rail wanted
PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2015 2:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 1:17 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Central Wisconsin
Nice. so the railway shifts as you log off the trees?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rail wanted
PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2015 7:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 6:13 am
Posts: 233
Location: New Zealand
Dave, the tracks are pretty much where the trees are but every now and then there is room to lay a temporary siding to get under the skyline. I'm not able to lay down a tree alongside the tracks very often so I use a Moveable Frog on to a seperate short disconnected track like this one off the Woodside Branch.

I'd like to make up some lighter 10lb rail sections for this sort of job, maybe in 8ft lengths with several light steel bars to hold the gauge and then just throw down the temporary ties before laying. That way I could avoid screw-spiking which being temporary, has to be done twice per siding. Eventually the screwholes wear out and the crossties get "spike-killed".

At least I can advance the temporary tracks by rail. I know a guy who used a four-wheeled bike to do all his tracklaying after using a tractor to build his grade. When he came here and say me doing it all by rail he wondered out loud why he hadn't done it that way. Using the tramway to build itself is the right way. All my neighbours do everything with petrol powered something or another, me different !


Attachments:
Loadout.jpg
Loadout.jpg [ 160.11 KiB | Viewed 1406 times ]
TempSpur.jpg
TempSpur.jpg [ 156.96 KiB | Viewed 1406 times ]

_________________
Alive and Well....for now
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rail wanted
PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2015 11:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 1:17 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Central Wisconsin
some rebar might work to hold the gauge, or some 1/4" plate. Don't know about over there, but here, you can get rebar pretty cheap.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group